NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

Longview News-Journal: Pickett won’t run for Shapleigh seat

The Longview News-Journal included the following on their website:

In a statement released a short time ago, Pickett ruled out a Senate race, citing his clout as chairman of the House Transportation Committee:

“I am incredibly grateful and appreciative for all the support and encouragement I have received over the past few days. I received phone calls from numerous legislators on both the House and Senate side, as well as calls from constituents, friends, and family urging me to strongly consider running for the open Senate seat.

“After serious consideration and prayer, I have decided that I can best serve my constituents, the citizens of El Paso, and the State of Texas through my current position.

“It is a tremendous honor for me to serve as the Chairman of the House Transportation Committee and it is simply a position that I cannot, in the best interest of my constituents and the residents of El Paso County, relinquish. As a Chairman, I possess the ability to influence legislation that will best serve the region of El Paso and this is an opportunity that El Paso has never before possessed.”

For more, click here.

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

October 21, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

