NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

What’s that school bus doing on my tail?

Heading to work a little late this morning, I moved over into the left lane of I-10 headed Downtown doing about 65 and knowing that wasn’t fast enough for the lane I was in.

But what did I see barreling down on me in my rear view mirror? An 18-wheeler with Louisiana license plates? No, an El Paso ISD school bus full of kids. Not what I expected. I sped up to 70 to get some distance on the tailgating bus and began looking for an opening to change lanes and get out of the way. The bus matched my speed, and there we were, clipping along 10 miles an hour over the speed limit, me in my Jeep and that yellow bus full of unbelted kids on a field trip to the East Side or something.

Compounding the danger, I know, I pulled my camera out of my pocket, aimed it into the rear view mirror and snapped a picture of bus No. 4. Here it is, in reverse, of course. Then, I moved over and let the bus zip by me. The woman at the wheel didn’t give me a second glance. Hope they made it on time.

David Crowder

Tailgate 2

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

June 15, 2009 at 12:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. School Bus drivers use to have a rodeo to check there skill levels now here is your bus go drive and don’t be late is the mission of the moment. Thats how our teens learn to drive from the achool bus drivers remember our representatives did away with the requirement for licensed driver trainers. I don’t even think they hace class b licenses anymore or the requirement to obtain one.

    R

    June 15, 2009 at 2:06 pm

  2. Now there’s an argument for seat-belts in school buses. Good job DC.

    eam

    June 15, 2009 at 3:25 pm

  3. Hi David,
    Too bad you didn’t seize that rear opportunity to make this a teaching experience so as to become a lasting experience.

    Contacting the superintendent and suggesting a refresher course on safe and defensive driving for their school bus drivers, if for no other reason than the safety and protection of all our kids.
    Lisle

    Lisle H. Davis

    June 15, 2009 at 3:37 pm

  4. The hypocrisy in this little blog entry is astounding David. I’m amazed that someone would even have the arrogance to publish it.

    There was no danger present, until you created by you taking a picture with your camera while driving at highway speed on a crowded highway, taking your hands and your eyes and attention off the road.

    The danger of drivers “Slow-Riding” along our I-10 at 40 miles per hour, or towing another vehicle behind them with a garden hose as a tow chain, or pallets stacked up 12 feet high on a pickup….now that’s real danger, not someone going a few miles over the limit.

    Besides, it’s a very real possibility the speedometer in your Jeep Cherokee XJ square body is calibrated for larger diameter truck tires rather than the cheap replacement passenger car size tires you bought to save a few bucks, which makes you think you are going faster than you really are.

    I wonder if the state police or EPPD can cite you for reckless driving based on the evidence you provide here…???

    DJ

    June 15, 2009 at 3:51 pm

  5. DJ,

    Even IF something was wrong with the jeep’s speedometer, the bus should NOT be tailgating!! That was the first danger of this whole scenario.

    RH

    June 15, 2009 at 5:13 pm

  6. Hey the headlights are on!
    dc… that means.. “move out of the way buddy… I’m late for summer school!”

    bm

    June 16, 2009 at 9:47 am


Comments are closed.

