El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

NPT Capitol: House conferees named for TxDoT sunset bill

Conferees were named in the House for HB 300, the TxDoT sunset bill, after the Texas House refused to concur with the Senate amendments.

House Transportation chairman Joe Pickett, D-El Paso, also initiated a record vote over language in the Senate version that would permit metropolitan areas to call elections to okay increases in gas taxes and vehicle fees – in order to raise funds for transportation projects. The House voted, along with Pickett, in opposition to the inclusion of local option language, taken from Sen. John Carona’s SB 855, in the Senate version.

The conferees are: Pickett, Carl Isett, R-Lubbock, Ruth McClendon, D-San Antonio, Linda Harper Brown, R-Irving, Wayne Smith, R-Baytown.

It is worth noting that none of the areas the aforementioned House members represent are what one would term rural.

–Ben Wright

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

May 27, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

%d bloggers like this: