NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

NPT County: Vacation time saves money? Nice spin!

News release from El Paso County. Good for them. Anyone getting a good deal in these times deserves recognition.

Yearly Holiday Schedule Helps County to Save Money, Boosts Morale and Is In Line with Other Agencies

(El Paso, TX) Tuesday, April 21, 2009 — The current holiday schedule adopted by the members of commissioners court helps the county of El Paso to save up to $52,000 in utilities costs a year.

On Monday, September 29, 2008, the members of Commissioners Court adopted the 15-day holiday scheduled in an effort to improve employee’s morale, efficiency and productivity.

Compared to their colleagues in other branches of government, -including the federal-, county employees have fewer employment benefits. Therefore, the observance of the holidays translates to employees as an added compensation and a direct saving to the tax payers.

Federal employees begin with a 13 day vacation and 13 sick days, meanwhile county employees start with a 10 day vacation and 10 sick days.

Additionally, county employees do not have personal days off or tuition reimbursements. Only law enforcement employees are eligible for such programs.

Moreover after 15 years of employment, federal employees accumulate 26 vacation days, compared to only 20 days for county employees and sick leave is not counted in their retirement calculations.

Currently, there are only 4 remaining holidays to observe in the county of El Paso for the remainder of the fiscal year. The complete list is as follows:

Tuesday, November 11, 2008 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 27, 2008 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 28, 2008 Day after Thanksgiving
Wednesday, December 24, 2008 Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 25, 2008 Christmas Day
Friday, December 26, 2008 Day after Christmas
Wednesday, December 31, 2008 New Year’s Eve
Thursday, January 1, 2009 New Year’s Day
Friday, January 2, 2009 Day after New Years
Monday, January 19, 2009 Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, February 16, 2009 President’s Day
Tuesday, March 31, 2009 Cesar Chavez Day
Friday, April 10, 2009 Good Friday
Monday, May 25, 2009 Memorial Day
Friday, June 19, 2009 Juneteenth
Friday, July 3, 2009 Independence Day
Monday, September 7, 2009 Labor Day

Sito Negron

Advertisements

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

April 22, 2009 at 12:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Where do the Commissioner’s compensation fit into the equation?

    Ken G

    April 22, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  2. Please remember that although the County offices are closed for a holiday certain activities/functions still go on especially the Sheriff’s Office and Jail. If it’s a holiday and they have to work then they get paid double for holiday pay. Therefore your costs are still there (salary for paid holidays, vacation, OT) and then added to that is the premium for working a paid holiday – unless they give another day off for that time – but again it’s paid. There is ZERO cost savings in giving time off for anything-it’s strictly a benefit and doesn’t reduce any costs anytime for any reason. Commissioners get paid for their holiday time.

    The county should adopt the Federal government holidays and that’s its. Virtually all private businesses do that and I can’t understand why the County thinks its different. Talk about a waste of taxpayer money. Wny are they so special?

    maryp

    April 23, 2009 at 7:45 am


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: