NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

NPT Media: A call to investigate EPISD deal with Strelzin

UPDATED (see new item below top item)

From a constituent to EPISD school board member Carlos Flores:

Mr. Flores,

I am sure that you are aware of the El Paso Times editorial coverage of the poor use of EPISD money to pay former educator and former talk show host, Paul Strelzin, a “consulting” fee. You are also probably aware of insights about this story on David Karlsruher’s blog, Refuse the Juice.

Hiring Mr. Strelzin has the appearance of cronyism on the part of EPISD’s Superintendent, Lorenzo Garcia. As a citizen of the district that you represent on the Board, I am asking you to investigate. Quite frankly, I think that you will find reason enough to demand Mr. Garcia’s immediate resignation and perhaps the resignation of other administrators who should be supporting education in the classroom and not cronyism in the costume of consulting.

Because the payments to Strelzin also seem to be a type of payola scheme kickbacks for hosting EPISD officials on his radio talk show, I will be asking the FCC and FBI to investigate.

I have very close and dear friends who teach in the District. There is little money for curricula and resources and yet the school district has plenty of money to spend on Strelzin. Put the money in the classroom and not on clowns.

I look forward to your reply and follow-up.

Jim H. Tolbert

***

The above item first was posted at about 10 a.m. this morning. Just in, some comments from Paul Strelzin on his discussion forum:

“I thought I did a good job helping administrators and students by being a consultant for EPISD. At my age (72 in June) I don’t have to put up with the BS and backbiting and I have therefore resigned as a consultant early this morning. The outlandish cartoon and editorial in todays Times was the last straw. I run into former students and teachers all the time who appreciated what I did in EPISD. I am truly sorry that I might have embarrassed my wife, daughters, son-in-laws, grandchildren and family. I pray that my life has been more positive than the lies printed about me. paul j. strelzin “

That was followed quickly by this:

I have spent the last few hours talking with my wife and family and have decided to keep working to improve the education of the students in EPISD and to help their administrators keep doing a great job. I have always been a fighter and I will continue to do so. I thank each and everyone of you for your kind words of encouragement.

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

April 20, 2009 at 11:35 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 12445 March 7, 2006, Decided McMillan alleges that he was denied participation in the mayoral debates, and media coverage as compared to other mayoral candidates. The Court construes this as a First Amendment claim. A political candidate, however, “does not have a constitutional right to demand air time” where the broadcast licensee is privately owned and not a state agency. Arons v. Donovan, 882 F. Supp. 379, 387 (D.N.J. 1995); see also Kennedy for President Committee v. FCC, 204 U.S. App. D.C. 145.

    Carl Starr

    April 20, 2009 at 12:25 pm

  2. I told you Davidkkk was a backstabing sob, he could never even carry the Strelz jock strap much less wear it. These people are just a bunch of haters including Barbara Perez, miss Sgt. Shultz, I know nothing, I hear nothing, I see nothing, come on she is so crooked she puts her heels on with a corkscrew. you mean to tell me in twenty years of being in el paso politics she NEVER saw or participated in any corupt act, alegedly. These haters need to realize who they are dealing with cause the strelz is like jason, and arnold he will be back.
    lasvegasdave

    big brown

    April 21, 2009 at 9:28 pm

  3. This should be a lesson to all. Any consulting has to be recorded on video.

    Marie

    April 22, 2009 at 8:59 am

  4. BigBrown LVD

    If Barbara is so crooked why do you call her show almost daily from Las Vagas?

    You sir are a waste of human flesh. Yeah just like you I have no facts to back up what I say, just do because I can.

    Your undying devotion to the Strelz – was that paid for by all the times he hired you to wash his car? Sounds like a paid endorsement to me.

    You’re a bright one LVD – great voice of El Paso – NOT

    LisaDfan

    April 22, 2009 at 12:38 pm


Comments are closed.

