NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

NPT: Juarez burning

A note from NPT reader Sean Bruno, some photos (courtesy of Bruno), and a plug for ABC-7:

The note: Earlier this evening I noticed plumes of smoke arching over my lower valley front yard. There are some health hazards I try to avoid by eating right and exercising. There are some health hazards which are harder to avoid, such as racing cars while biking on Alameda or the lack of fresh and affordable produce… but I still manage to avoid those hazards fairly regularly. Unfortunately, I’m unable to avoid plumes of smoke and falling soot which are the result of a yet another burning Maquila. Is there a local board that is ensuring that local economic and environmental health issues — even those on the other side of the border — are not hurting my health and the health of my neighbors?

The plug: ABC-7 is working on trying to answer that question.

Meanwhile, here are some pictures from the Lower Valley.
2009-04-07-at-17-55-582009-04-07-at-18-05-54

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

April 8, 2009 at 1:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hundreds of jobs may be in jeapordy and someone’s business is in ruins in an already hurting community, and our only concern is about the slighly smokey air we might breathe in for one day? If my next door neighbor’s house burned down, I would hope that I would ask if there was anything I could do to help them and tell them not to worry one second about the smoke and soot damage to my house (and be thankful that I still had a home). We should show more concern to our neighbor’s tragedy and worry less about the slight impact on ourselves.

    Alexandria Zant

    April 8, 2009 at 2:37 pm

  2. What a shame that El Paso chose not to respond to the Cd. Juarez request to send a ladder truck(s). Maybe the fire could have been doused faster? less ash?

    Clue

    April 8, 2009 at 2:54 pm

  3. exactly !! thank you Alexandria Zant!

    eric

    April 8, 2009 at 4:50 pm

  4. If I remember right, didnt the Caballero administration send a few ladder and pumpers to Juarez a few years back and for free. Miss A Zant those fires could pose a tremendous threat to the citizens of El Paso due to hazmats in those maquillas, lets hope the same situation in china does not happen here(la mordida)so as to look the way.

    big ed

    April 8, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  5. I am certain that the person who wrote this note is quite capable of having concern for his neighbor across the border while simultaneously expressing concern for the health of his neighbor across the street. And I am quite certain that it is, at the very least, naïve to view as “slight” the long-term impact on our health of incidents such as this.

    AA

    April 8, 2009 at 10:27 pm

  6. Let’s look to see who the insurance carriers are.

    Ken G

    April 9, 2009 at 8:51 pm


Comments are closed.

