NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

NPT Capitol: Marquez on Craddick D speculation, Chavez

marquezYesterday afternoon, NPT caught up with state Rep. Marisa Marquez, who wanted to respond to comments made by state Rep Norma Chavez, about the two El Paso politicians’ relationship.

Chavez said she had given”110 per cent” to Marquez’s election in the 2008 primary but that the District 77 Rep. “wanted complete distance from me after she was elected.” Marquez disputed this.

“It is completely untrue that I asked her to leave me alone. That is not the case. I need any member of the delegation’s support on any of the issues I choose to take on for District 77, especially given the experience of Pickett and Chavez,” said Marquez.

“There were a lot of people who gave 110 to 200 per cent, a lot of people that were invested in my election. It as not just Norma Chavez. I am grateful, I have given her thanks on many public occasions, on the radio, in the newspaper and I find it very disheartening that it is still not good enough,” said Marquez.

NPT asked Marquez about speculation last year that she was a Craddick D (Democrats supportive of former House speaker Tom Craddick) and Chavez’s creature. [link]

“Those are two thing don’t allow for any sense of independence. Being lumped in with the “Craddick Ds” certainly was not fair because I had no history of voting with Craddick. I had no history in the political arena,” Marquez said. “Because I received money form the business community doesn’t necessarily mean that everything has to fall in place and that I have to be a Craddick D just because they supported Craddick.”

chavez“As for being Chavez’s creature, I think that will come from just people supporting you. Am I my fathers creature? He supported me… It’s the people who put me here, the individuals who went to the polls on March 4th (2008), those are the people I’m responsible to,” Marquez said.

Marquez said it was clear during her campaign that she was not beholden to anybody.

“Just pigeon holing people is not appropriate, it’s not right,” Marquez said. “To rubber stamp me with particular money and say ‘that’s going to happen’, I don’t think is fair.”

–Ben Wright

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

April 7, 2009 at 11:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Creature?

    creature

    April 7, 2009 at 2:29 pm

  2. Why do our reps keep using impossible terms like “110 percent?”

    Why continue using such a false statement?

    David K

    April 7, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  3. David K, why do you keep making an ass out of yourself?

    Suppose a company posted a $50 million profit one year. The following year it posted a $105 million profit.

    By what percentage did the profit increase?

    Oh, but that would be impossible, right?

    Andrew Carnegie

    April 7, 2009 at 8:51 pm


Comments are closed.

