NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

NPT City: Mayoral forum today

This came from the mayoral campaign of Carlos Rivera:

The filing is done. It’s forum time. Our first Mayor Candidate Forum is set for today, Wednesday, March 11 from 6:30pm-8:00pm at Cappetto’s Italian Restaurant.

Note, if you plan to attend the forum, there will be a $12 charge for cost of seating and pre-arranged meals – Spaghetti, Veal Parmesan, Chicken Pomodoro. This includes beverage, tax, and gratuity.

Questions are pre-set and no impromptu questions or comments will be taken from the audience.

You can find our schedule of events at www.carlos4mayor.org

Please check the website. You can sign up to:
Stay informed – Thru emails, text messaging, and other communications from our Team
Volunteer for our Team
Offer suggestions for improvement
Pass it along to your family, friends, and colleagues
Contribute on-line
In addition to finding events on the website, we will forward updates on additional forums or activities as they come up.

Following today’s forum, Next one is set for Saturday, March 14 @ 10am at the El Paso Times Building on Campbell St. I understand many of you have family and business commitments on Saturdays. Please make every effort to join us Saturday.

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

March 11, 2009 at 1:56 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Questions are pre-set and no impromptu questions or comments will be taken from the audience”??? What’s up with that? Don’t call it a forum- call it a monologue. What is this guy afraid of that he can’t talk with the voters?

    Suzanne Fabian

    March 12, 2009 at 2:37 pm

  2. It was for ALL the candidates, SIX CANDIDATES, that particpated. He just happen to invite ALL people to the forum.

    He is more than willing to answer your questions, go to one of many forums scheduled for all candidates, his web sites or just stop him anywhere and ask.

    I am sure ALL the candidates would the same.

    You know what they say about the word assume.

    Rey

    March 12, 2009 at 4:00 pm

  3. I didn’t assume anything- I asked a straight out question based on what was written for or by the candidate. When you say you’re sure they will be happy to answer questions then YOU are assuming.

    Suzanne Fabian

    March 12, 2009 at 8:14 pm

  4. Obviously you havent tried to talk with him. I HAVE talked with him and the other candidates.

    This one of the reasons EP is in such disarray. Uniformed citizens and dont understand is said or written. The sheep mentality.

    Rey

    March 14, 2009 at 2:38 pm

  5. No- I haven’t spoken to him- YET- and I do plan on attending future forums. Before you go making assumptions about people and putting them in boxes- maybe think before you speak. I do research as much as I can on the internet and talking with the people involved and it can be exhausting. Sorry my timing is off with the much more important city elections coming up- but I have been busy with what I guess you would consider less important duties- attending my sister’s trial to see how long the idiot drunk driver would get for ruining my sister’s life in Illinois, traveling to Phoenix to visit my relative in ICU and here on the homefront being a full-time and on-call personal care attendant- besides the community work I do. I asked a simple question based on the info the candidates put out- get over it.

    Suzanne Fabian

    March 15, 2009 at 6:38 pm

  6. oh and by the way- maybe you want to check for spelling errors if you’re trying to look all important and sooo much more educated than the rest of us- it gives you a little more credibility.

    Suzanne Fabian

    March 15, 2009 at 7:29 pm

  7. Nice try, but ANYONE, can tell the difference between the insult and asking a question.

    I am not concerned with popularity or importantance. I express common sense. I am concerned with the number of uniformed people in EP. If it takes making you angry to pay attention then so be it.

    My sympathy to your sister and all the other victims of dui which includes drugs.

    Rey

    March 16, 2009 at 7:39 am

  8. I’m glad you feel it’s your job to inform us El Pasoans who are so uninformed.
    Just like the one line “questions are pre-set….” can be taken differently, so were my 2 lines. Just because one is snarky doesn’t make it an invalid question. My original response was a bit that- can’t help it- the more I get “informed” about EP politics the more jaded I get.
    I appreciate your sympathy for my sister

    Suzanne Fabian

    March 19, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  9. Suzanne, I moved here from the east coast a little while back. I am shocked at the lack of preparation by the candidates, the personaliztion of politics and the really underhandedness. Amateur politics.

    I am trying to get people in EP to become informed and to recognize politics for what it is, nothing personal. And stop the vendettas.

    I dont claim to know everything and do my best to learn as much as I can, since this is my hometown now. My sole intent is make EP a better place and perhaps little by little, remove the extreme positions by the policitans and people.

    I am amazed at the number of people that do not vote or dont even know why they are voting for a certain candidate. Some tell me they will ask a friend or family memember who to vote for !

    Rey

    March 20, 2009 at 7:55 am

  10. Yes, being from Chicago and now in the biggest little city El Paso, I am amazed, too, at the apathy of not voting but also not making a strong effort at knowing WHO you’re voting for- I don’t get it, especially when I DO see other issues so well protected and/or protested by the average Joe down here on the border!
    Anyway, thanks for the open dialogue.

    Suzanne Fabian

    March 20, 2009 at 4:56 pm


Comments are closed.

