NewspaperTree.com Blog

El Paso-centric info and commentary from the Center of North America

NPT City: Lozano wants his former District 3 seat

Former District 3 city Rep. Alexandro Lozano, who resigned and ran unsuccessfully for a seat on the County Commission last year, said he will formally announce tomorrow a run for his old seat. The spot now is held by city Rep. Emma Acosta, who won the seat in a special election about a year ago.

Lozano, who has been weighing the decision, said family support was the final factor: “The main person was my wife, she wanted me to stay home more but she supports me, she understands my passion … I needed her support more than anything else. We’re on board now I need to get my supporters behind me and start to campaign.”

Lozano said he would focus on customer service and quality of life issues.

— Quality of life: “We need quality of life infrastructure so we can have industry so we can have jobs,” he said, adding he would focus on creating a “park system.”

— Customer service: “Every citizen in El Paso can come to my office and get service and attention.”

Sito Negron

nptlogo2

Written by newspapertreeelpaso

February 18, 2009 at 11:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No way??!! This is like getting Bush back in office. A goldmine, I tell ya!

    avocadoan.com

    February 18, 2009 at 12:18 pm

  2. I wouldn’t put Lozano in the presidential category but I think he may have worn out his welcome in District 3.

    Ken G

    February 18, 2009 at 2:30 pm

  3. Lozano for District 3? Ha, ha, ha! Keep the hat on and grow a mustach, we’ll consider you for Cisco Kid’s side kick. Hay Pancho, Ha Cisco, ha, ha ha!!!!!

    Huarache

    February 18, 2009 at 3:38 pm

  4. I hope it doesnt take Lozano several losses to get the jest of the voters. It finally sunk in for Larry Medina. Unless there is another board appointment to appease him until the next election. I guess beating Medina twice makes you feel invincible.

    Tony

    February 18, 2009 at 11:42 pm

  5. You’re right Medina did lose to Lozano but if Medina wouldn’t have been so loyal to former mayor Caballero he’d still be there. There’s absolutely no comparison. Larry Medina pushed and passed some incredibly powerful public policies such as the non smoking laws and public arts and paving of streets and alley ways in mostly low income areas of the city. I worked for the city over 25 years in two departments. One of them was the street department until I retired a couple of years ago and this guy Medina was amongst the very best council folks in all the yaars i was there. He should run again cause we need good policy makers more now than ever before.

    Alexandro Lozano is a totally different story though. I don’t want to be mean but Lozano has no business being in public office. He was the most self serving, incompetent and silliest city alderman I’ve ever known. Nobody wanted to take his or his office’s call because of the attitude and simply meanness of this man.

    PLEASE Emma Acosta needs to win this one.

    NO Lozano!
    Lozano NO!

    American guy

    February 19, 2009 at 1:59 am

  6. American guy, you’re absolutely right. Medina rarely gets the credit for having been an effective legislator on those very issues you mentioned — street and alley paving, the smoking ban, and the 2 percent for arts (which reminds me, I ought to check into how that’s gone). Those were major initiatives that he worked very hard to pass.

    As for Lozano, I don’t recall people lined up to challenge him. Someone please correct me if I got this wrong, but without researching it, I believe it wasn’t until he resigned and left the seat open that folks stepped forward, so he must have had some popularity there, no? It will be interesting to see how it plays out now that Emma Acosta is the incumbent. — Sito

    epmediagroup

    February 19, 2009 at 8:51 am

  7. Ms. Emma Acosta hasn’t had a full term to promote her agenda for District 3. I do think we need to give her a full term to prove herself. Mr. Lozano has already had a chance and he proved himself incompetent and serve serving. Not to be mean, just stating the facts. American Guy has first hand experience with him. If he was meanspirited then he isn’t serving the people but rather himself. The people in the trenches have to be respected so they can do their job and the citizen are to be respected.

    Huarache

    February 19, 2009 at 4:10 pm


Comments are closed.

